Step 1. Meet Florida real estate license requirements. You must be at least 18 years old and have a high school diploma or GED in order to become licensed in Florida.
Step 2. Complete 63 classroom-hours of pre-licensing courses. – Compare – Enroll Today
Step 3. Submit the appropriate paperwork and pass the licensing exam.
Submit a completed application, electronic fingerprints, and the fee
Pass the Florida Real Estate Agent Exam with a grade of at least 75 out of 100 points or pass the Florida Real Estate Law Exam with a grade of at least 30 out of 40 points.
Activate your Florida real estate license using the DBPR RE 11 Become Active – Sales Associate or Broker Sales Associate form, OR
Have your employing broker activate your new license online using the broker’s online account.
Step 4. Successfully complete a post-licensing course for sales associates consisting of at least 45 classroom-hours, before your initial sales license expires. Even if your license is inactive, you will still need to complete the post-licensing course before the license expires.
According to the Florida Division of Real Estate a minimum grade of 70% is required in order to pass the final exam. If you fail the final exam, you must wait 30 days to retest. You will only be allowed two attempts at the final exam. If you fail the exam twice you will be required to re-enroll in the course, and you will need to go through the entire course again in order to take the final exam.
Name: Florida Dept of Business & Prof. Regulat.
Address: 2601 Blair Stone Road Tallahassee, FL 32399
So, you’re looking at getting your real estate license in Florida. Florida actually has one of the most straightforward processes in order to get your real estate license. Let’s take a few moments and go through step-by-step the requirements that you need to go through in order to become a licensed real estate agent in Florida.
The first step is you need to meet some minimum license requirements. You have to be at least 18 years of age and have a high school diploma or GED in order to become licensed in Florida. There is not a requirement in Florida that you be a state resident. You can live in other states and get your Florida real estate license.
The next step is you have to complete a 63-hour classroom hour pre-licensing course. Now, just because I said classroom hour, this does not mean that you have to take a classroom course. Florida has an approved online course that you can take. And as you’re taking the course, while you’re reading the materials, there’ll be a timer within the course that will keep track of the time that you’ve spent on the course. At the end of each module, there will be sample test questions that you will answer and once you’ve answered those correctly, you’ll move on to the next module. In the link below this video, I’ve included some links to real estate schools that you can sign up for today.
If you’re looking to take a classroom course, you’ll need to contact the individual real estate schools and inquire about their fees and their specific schedule. Now, once you have completed the course, meaning that you’ve taken the course and you’ve passed the course final test, you’re able to then take an independent state/national exam with PSI testing. So, as part of this overall process, you have to take this independent test. You have to submit your appropriate paperwork and pass the licensing exam.
Now this appropriate paperwork is your completed application, electronic fingerprints, and the fee. When it comes to the final exam you have to pass with a 70% or above. Now I’ll talk about in just a moment, what happens if you don’t pass with that amount. When you have submitted in your application and you’ve passed the test along with your electronic fingerprints and the background check, your license can then be activated. You can either do so by using a DBPR form or the broker that you work with can log into their account, into their system and they can claim your license. They can activate your license.
Now the final step, once you’re up and running with a broker is you have to successfully complete a post-licensing course for sales associates. This would be a 45-hour course, and this must be completed before your initial sales licensing expires. I would encourage you to take this sooner rather than later because it’s going to be a lot of the same information that was covered in the initial 63-hour course and you don’t want to have a period of time where you forget it, because a lot of the information you learned in the course is not about actually selling real estate and you may forget some of the terminology, the facts and figures that they’re looking for on the multiple choice test.
Now, when I talked about having to pass that test, with a 70%. You’re required to do this. If you fail that final exam, then you’re going to have 30 days, you have to wait 30 days to retest. You’re only allowed two attempts at the final exam. If you fail the exam twice, you’ll be required to re-enroll in the course, and you’ll need to go through the entire 63-hour course again in order to be licensed. I’m not the one that makes up the rules. This is information that comes from DBPR the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation. They’re the governing body for these courses.
So, when you’re signing up for a course, because passing this final exam is so important, I would encourage you, and both of the schools that we link to have exam preparation modules so that you’ll be able to take the sample test questions over and over again to give you a general idea of what areas you’re strong in and what areas you need more improvement in.
Now, in addition to this video, I’ve put together a complete guide that talks about not only the licensing requirements but all of the steps that you need to go through in order to be up and running and successful and I’ll go ahead and link to that video so that you can look at this webinar that I prepared in a previous video.
Now, if you have any questions about selecting a broker, you can visit digitalagentshow.com and I’ll have a link there that you can click on, and it’ll direct you to resources for you to be able to select a broker in your area.
Hope this has helped you figure out how you can go through and get your Florida real estate license. Until next time, make it a great day.