fbpx

Real Estate License Requirements

Alabama Real Estate License: Salesperson

An applicant who does not hold a current real estate license in another state must:

Step 1. Meet Alabama real estate license requirements .

Be a U.S. citizen, permanent resident alien or legally present in the U.S, and be at least 19 years old;

Show proof of bona fide residency in any state in the U.S.;

Show proof of high school graduation or the equivalent;

Not have been convicted of a felony or a crime involving moral turpitude;

Not have had a real estate application or license rejected or revoked in any state within the past two years.

Step 2. Complete an approved 60-hour Alabama real estate prelicense course. Before you can sit for the Alabama state real estate license exam, you must successfully complete an approved Alabama 60-hour pre-license course. You have 12 months to pass the Alabama state exam after completing the course. If you miss the deadline, you must retake the course

Step 3. After meeting the education and/or experience requirements, pass the real estate licensing examination. You must earn a score of 70% or higher to pass. Applicants have 6 months to pass the state exam after completing the course. If these deadlines are not met, the course must be retaken.

Step 4. Must complete 30-hour post license training course within the first twelve months of licensure in order to be issued an original (permanent) license. Further, the course must be completed, and original license issued within the first six months in order to maintain an active license.

If you already hold a real estate license in another state, you may obtain an Alabama RECIPROCAL license.

Limitations

Alabama Licensing Process and Deadlines:
1. Successful completion of the 60-hour prelicense course: The 60-hour prelicense course for both salespersons and brokers must be completed within one year of the start date. The start date for distance education courses is the date the course material is first accessed and the end date is when all required documentation is submitted to the provider.
2. Successful completion of the state license examination: The salesperson and broker examinations must be taken through PSI/AMP and passed within six months of the end date of the appropriate prelicense course. Students will not be able to schedule the state exam until the school electronically submits verification of course completion to PSI/AMP.
3. Submitting Application for a Temporary Salesperson’s or Original Broker’s License: The Application for a Temporary Salesperson’s License and the Application for a Broker’s License must be submitted to the Commission within 90 days of passing the appropriate state license examination. Please note this is 90 calendar days and the first day is the day the exam is passed. The exam score report and application are a combined document that will be received at the test site. All appropriate license fees and documentation for minimum age, U.S. citizenship, state residency, and high school completion as identified in Rule 790-X-2-.01 must accompany the application.
4. Completion of the Salesperson’s 30-hour post license course: A person shall be required to have a temporary license issued prior to taking a post license course as identified in Rule 790-X-2-.03. If a salesperson’s temporary license is issued on active status, the 30-hour post license course must be completed within six months AND an application for a permanent/original license submitted to remain on active status. The six-month period begins on the first day of the month following issuance of the temporary license and concludes on the last day of the sixth month. For example, a temporary license is issued on June 10. The six months will begin on July 1 and end on December 31.
5. Submitting Application for a Permanent/Original Salesperson’s License: Every temporary salesperson MUST take a 30-hour post license course and submit the Application for an Original Salesperson License within 12 months. The 12 months begin on the first day of the month following issuance of the temporary license and conclude on the last day of the twelfth month. This deadline applies to both active and inactive licensees. The application for an original salesperson’s license can be found on the Commission’s website at www.arec.alabama.gov.
6. A Lapsed Temporary Salesperson’s License: Failure to submit application and have the permanent/original license issued within the 12-month time frame described above will result in the license lapsing, and the applicant will have to begin the licensing process again with the prelicense course.

The preceding deadlines have been explained to me by the school, and I understand the licensing requirements that must be met for temporary and permanent licensure. I also understand that I may contact the Real Estate Commission at any time if I have questions. By electronically signing the Pre-Course Checklist (presented online when starting the course) and proceeding to the online course, I am indicating that I understand these licensing requirements.

Students cannot receive credit for completing more than 6 hours in a course per day. At this rate, students are not allowed to complete a course in less than 11 days, therefore, the first attempt at the LIVE, PROCTORED COURSE FINAL EXAMINATION is not accessible until at least the 11th day after starting the course (provided the student has completed all units

Governing Agency

Name: Alabama Real Estate Commission
Phone: 3342425544
Fax: 3342709118
Website: https://arec.alabama.gov/arec/
Address: 1201 Carmichael Way Montgomery, AL 36106


Arizona Real Estate License Requirements

Hours Required By The State: 96 hours – Enroll Today

  • 90 hour salesperson prelicensing course
  • 6 hour contract writing course

Seat Time: The Arizona Department of Real Estate requires that all students spend a minimum amount of seat time engaged in the course content. Seat time must be met at the unit level before students will be allowed to proceed. Our online course delivery system manages this requirement for you.

Max Hours in a 24-Hour Period: Arizona real estate licensees will not receive credit for more than 10 hours of pre licensure education per day. Our online course delivery system manages this requirement for you.

Sales Tax: Due to the tax law which mandates that online businesses must collect sales tax in certain states, if your state requires sales tax to be collected, it will automatically be added to the total amount due at checkout minus any donation made to The CE Shop Foundation. In addition,  if you choose to set-up a payment plan, sales tax will be added to each monthly payment plan total. For questions, please contact The CE Shop at 1.888.827.0777 or Support@TheCEShop.com.

The CE Shop is an approved real estate school in Arizona; license number S08-0004

The CE Shop Offers:

  • 90 hour salesperson prelicensing course
  • 6 hour contract writing course

Student Identity Verification: For the 90 hour prelicensing course, students will be required to authenticate their identity through an outside vendor every time they log in. Instructions on how to set this up are located within the course.

Final Exam Instructions and Proctoring Information: The state requires that the 90 hour prelicensing course final exam be proctored and you achieve a score of 75% or higher to pass. Upon course completion, you will be presented with a final exam instruction slide which explains the proctor process, in detail. Proctoring will be done in person at an approved proctoring facility. The proctor will be required to complete an online form prior to entering the code to access the final exam. Please select an approved proctor location here.

Reporting: The Arizona Department of Real Estate does not require reporting of pre-licensing course completions.

Expiration Date of Course: The CE Shop’s Pre-Licensing courses expire one year after the date of purchase. The CE Shop will allow students to purchase a new course at a 50% discount of the current retail price of the new course. Each individual course will have an expiration date listed in the student’s account.

Certificates: Once The CE Shop has received the signed affidavit, your certificate of course completion will become available to download (and via email). Upon completion of the course, The CE Shop will provide students with an electronic Certificate of Completion. Certificates will remain in your account for a minimum of five years, should you need additional copies. Please refer to your license application to determine if you need to submit your Certificate of Completion with your license request. Course completion dates are recorded using Central Standard Time. Please note that the date of your Certificate of Completion will reflect this.

Arizona Department of Real Estate

Street Address: 100 N. 15th Ave., Suite 201 Phoenix, AZ 85007
Telephone: 602.771.7799

Arizona Department of Real Estate Website


Arkansas Real Estate License: Salesperson

Step 1: Meet the Arkansas Real Estate License General Requirements

You must be at least 18 years old.

Step 2: Complete the Arkansas Real Estate License Education Requirements

You must successfully complete 60 hours of real estate education. Also note that 30 of those hours must be in the basic principles of real estate.

Step 3: Pass the Arkansas Real Estate License Exam and Complete the Application

Pass the Arkansas licensure examination.

Send the proper forms and fees to the Arkansas Real Estate Commission no later than 90 days after passing the examination.

More about Arkansas Real Estate License Requirements You may submit the application prior to completing the real estate education requirement. However, you must submit proof of completing the education requirement prior to receiving eligibility to take the real estate exam. AREC will issue the Certificate of Eligibility for Examination only after receiving the application information and the education certificate. A criminal background report and fingerprints must be received by the Arkansas Real Estate Commission before the Real Estate Commission will issue the license. The Arkansas State Police will conduct the background check, take your fingerprints and submit the report to the Commission. To process your application, send the following to the AREC:

  • Completed application to take the real estate examination
  • Completed fingerprint card
  • Submit application fee, Arkansas criminal background check fee, and FBI criminal background check fee. Make cashier’s check or money order payable to “AREC”.

Limitations

Students are given 6 months from their registration date to complete this course. If unable to complete in that timeframe, please contact customer service for extension information.

Name: Arkansas Real Estate Commission
Phone: 5016838010
Fax: 5016838020
Website: http://www.arec.arkansas.gov
Address: 612 S Summit St Little Rock, AR 72201


California Real Estate License: Salesperson Requirements

California State Required Pre-licensing Hours: 135 hours

Real Estate Express California Course Hours Offered: 135 hours

Step 1: Meet the general California real estate license requirements as outlined on the California Department of Real Estate website:

  • Be at least 18 years old
  • Must be honest and truthful. Conviction of a crime may result in the denial of a license. Failure to disclose any criminal violation or disciplinary action in an applicant’s entire history may also result in the denial of a license.

Step 2: Complete an approved 135 hours of pre-licensing education.

Step 3: Apply for the salesperson examination.

Step 4: Submit fingerprints for a criminal background check.

Step 5. Successfully pass the California real estate licensing exam by earning a score of 70% or higher.

Step 6. Obtain sponsorship from a licensed California broker.

Step 7. Complete the California Real Estate License application.

How long does it take to get a California real estate license?

On average, it takes between five (5) and six (6) months to get a California real estate license depending on the pace in which you complete the 135 hours of pre-licensing courses and pass your licensing examination, the time it takes you to complete the application process and find a sponsoring broker, and application processing times.

What kind of information will I learn to help me get a real estate license in California?

Per Real Estate Express policy, the 135-hour pre-license coursework for salespersons must be completed within six (6) months of the start date. The start date for distance education courses is the date the course material is first accessed and the end date is when all required documentation is submitted to the provider. The required courses within the 135 hours include:

  • Real Estate Principles (45 hours)
  • Real Estate Practices (45 hours)
  • One course from the following list:
    • Real Estate Appraisal
    • Property Management
    • Real Estate Finance
    • Real Estate Economics
    • Legal Aspects of Real Estate
    • Real Estate Office Administration
    • General Accounting
    • Business Law
    • Escrows
    • Mortgage Loan Brokering and Lending 
    • Computer Applications in Real Estate
    • Common Interest Developments

Note: If you are a member of the California State Bar, you are exempt from the college-level course requirements. Evidence of admission to practice Law in California must be furnished, such as a photocopy of both sides of a California State Bar membership card.

Regulatory notes

The state requires a minimum amount of seat time in the course content. Our online course platform monitors this requirement for each student. Students cannot receive credit for completion of a course in less than 18 days, therefore, the first attempt at a course final exam is not accessible until at least the 18th day after starting the course (provided the student has completed all units and unit quizzes). If a student fails the first attempt at the course final exam, a second attempt will not be available until 18 days have passed since the first exam was failed. If a student fails the final exam for a course twice, then the student has failed the course. In order to receive credit, the student will need to re-register for the course, complete all units and unit quizzes in the new course, and pass the course final exam.

Obtaining Certificate of Course Completion: Upon completion of the course, Real Estate Express will provide you an electronic certificate of completion in your account dashboard.  You may need to submit your certificate of completion with your license request, please refer to your license application to determine if this is necessary.  Course completion dates are recorded using Central Standard Time, therefore that will be the time reflected on your certificate.

California Department Of Real Estate
Website: http://www.dre.ca.gov/
Phone: 877-373-4542
Fax: 916-263-8943
Address: 1651 Exposition Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95815


How to Get Your Real Estate License in Colorado?

Do you want to become a real estate agent and get a Colorado Real Estate License? Real Estate Express taught thousands of aspiring real estate agents in Colorado, we make it easy for you to get up to speed on the Colorado real estate license requirements.

The requirements to become a real estate agent in Colorado are clear – pass background check, complete 168 hours of Colorado real estate license education, and pass the Colorado real estate license exam.

Step 1: Meet the general Colorado real estate license requirements:

Be 18 years old or older to be issued a Colorado real estate license.

Complete your background check fingerprint requirement

Background checks are valid for 1 year after completion

Step 2: Meet the Educational Real Estate License Requirements in Colorado

Option 1: Complete 168 hours of Colorado real estate license education. The 168 hours of Colorado Real Estate Broker Qualifying Education are comprised of mandatory courses required by the Colorado Division of Real Estate.  The mandatory courses will prepare you to pass both the state and national portions of the Colorado real estate broker examination. 48 hours, Real Estate Law & Practice 48 hours, Colorado Contracts & Regulations 8 hours, Trust Accounts & Recordkeeping 8 hours, Current Legal Issues 24 hours, Real Estate Closings 32 hours, Practical Applications

Option 2: The Colorado Real Estate Commission recognizes prior education. A degree from an accredited degree-granting college or university with a major course of study in real estate can be enough to meet the requirements. Original transcripts must be provided upon application. Unofficial transcripts may be submitted to the Division for review prior to taking the broker’s exam.

Step 3: Pass the Colorado real estate license exam

Take and pass both the general and state portions of the Colorado Broker Exam at a PSI test center.

Step 4: Provide proof of Errors & Omissions insurance and complete your Colorado real estate license application online.

You must have a current E&O insurance policy in place before obtaining an active license.

Step 5: Complete the Colorado real estate license application

Applications can take up to ten (10) business days from the time of receipt to be processed.

Regulatory notes

This license information is provided as a convenience only and is subject to change at any time. It’s ultimately the responsibility of the licensee to be sure that he or she is meeting all requirements for each license and corresponding renewal period.

Students are advised to check with the appropriate Colorado regulatory agencies prior to purchasing courses to confirm that the program/course work will satisfy initial or renewal licensing or certification of that agency.

Colorado Division of Real Estate

Phone: 3038942166
Fax: 3038942683
Address: 1560 Broadway, Suite 925 Denver, CO 80202


Requirements for the State of Delaware

Hours Required By The State: 99 hours 

For students seeking reciprocity, Delaware requires a 33 hour real estate law course.

Seat Time: The state requires that all students spend a minimum amount of seat time engaged in the course content. Our online course delivery system manages this requirement for you.

The CE Shop Offering: 99 hours

33 hours in real estate law (for those seeking reciprocity).

Math Pre-Test: The CE Shop offers a math pretest for those students who wish to exempt themselves from the math portion of this course. This optional math pretest is equivalent to the final test given at the conclusion of the math section in content and length. The content of the pretest covers each of the topics covered in the course. A passing score of 80 percent shall exempt a student from taking the math section of this course.

Final Exam Instructions: Each course contains a final exam. A minimum score of 80% is required to pass the final exam.

Reporting: Real estate course completions are reported to the Delaware Real Estate Commission. Completions are required to be reported within 15 days after completion of the course and are reported within this timeframe.

Expiration Date of Course: The CE Shop’s Pre-Licensing courses expire one year after the date of purchase. The CE Shop will allow students to purchase a new course at a 50% discount of the current retail price of the new course. Each individual course will have an expiration date listed in the student’s account.

Certificates: Upon completion of the course, The CE Shop will provide students with an electronic certificate of completion. Certificates will remain in your account for a minimum of five years, should you need additional copies. Please refer to your license application to determine if you need to submit your certificate of completion with your license request. Course completion dates are recorded using Central Standard Time. Please note that the date of your certificate of completion will reflect this. 

Reciprocity: students applying for a reciprocal license, must provide the following additional information:

  • Submit the original score report received from Pearson VUE after passing the Delaware law portion of the salesperson’s examination.
  • Submit one of the following:
    • copy of the certificate received  after completion of the Delaware law portion of the salesperson’s pre-licensing course, or 
    • copy of the certificate received after completion of another jurisdiction’s pre-licensing salesperson’s course of at least 99 hoursor
    • Certificate of Licensure History showing that the licensee has been licensed continuously for the three years immediately prior to the application and a completed, signed Sales or Lease Transaction Listing form(s) listing 20 sales or lease transactions that the licensee completed during the three years immediately prior to application. 

Delaware Real Estate Commission

Street Address: Cannon Building, 861 Silver Lake Blvd., Suite 203, Dover, DE 19904
Telephone: 302.744.4500
Fax: 302.739.2711
Delaware Real Estate Commission Website


District of Columbia Real Estate License: Sales Associate

Hours Required By The State: 60 hours

The CE Shop is an approved real estate CE School in the District of Columbia; license number 603799

Final Exam: The state requires that you achieve a score of 75% or higher to pass.  

Expiration Date of Course: The CE Shop’s Pre-Licensing course in the District of Columbia will expire three months after the date of purchase. Each individual course will have an expiration date listed in your account. Refer to the Terms and Conditions for re-enrollment options.

Reporting: The state does not require schools to report Pre-Licensing course completions.

Certificates: Upon completion of the course, The CE Shop will provide students with an electronic Certificate of Completion. Certificates will remain in your account for a minimum of five years, should you need additional copies. Please refer to your license renewal application to determine if you need to submit your Certificate of Completion with your license renewal request. Course completion dates are recorded using Central Standard Time. Please note that the date of your Certificate of Completion will reflect this.

Additional District of Columbia Licensing Information:

CE Exemptions: Newly licensed brokers, salespersons and property managers are exempt from taking CE courses for the remainder of a licensing cycle during which their license is obtained, but are required to renew the license when that first cycle ends. CE credits taken by (new) licensees do not roll over and cannot be carried forward into the next cycle.

License Renewal Process: The process to renew in this state is to log in to the licensing system online and follow the prompts to renew.

Washington, D.C. Department of Consumer & Regulatory Affairs
Street Address: 1100 4th Street SW, Washington, DC 20024
Telephone: 202.442.4320 or 888.204.6192
Fax: 202.698.4329
Washington, D.C. Department of Consumer & Regulatory Affairs Website


Florida Real Estate License: Sales Associate

Step 1. Meet Florida real estate license requirements. You must be at least 18 years old and have a high school diploma or GED in order to become licensed in Florida.

Step 2. Complete 63 classroom-hours of pre-licensing courses. – Compare – Enroll Today

Step 3. Submit the appropriate paperwork and pass the licensing exam.

Submit a completed application, electronic fingerprints, and the fee

Pass the Florida Real Estate Agent Exam with a grade of at least 75 out of 100 points or pass the Florida Real Estate Law Exam with a grade of at least 30 out of 40 points.

Activate your Florida real estate license using the DBPR RE 11 Become Active – Sales Associate or Broker Sales Associate form, OR

Have your employing broker activate your new license online using the broker’s online account.

Step 4. Successfully complete a post-licensing course for sales associates consisting of at least 45 classroom-hours, before your initial sales license expires. Even if your license is inactive, you will still need to complete the post-licensing course before the license expires.

Limitations

According to the Florida Division of Real Estate a minimum grade of 70% is required in order to pass the final exam. If you fail the final exam, you must wait 30 days to retest. You will only be allowed two attempts at the final exam. If you fail the exam twice you will be required to re-enroll in the course, and you will need to go through the entire course again in order to take the final exam.

Governing Agency

Name: Florida Dept of Business & Prof. Regulat.
Phone: 8504871395
Fax: 8504888040
Website: http://www.myfloridalicense.com/DBPR/businesses-and-professions/
Address: 2601 Blair Stone Road Tallahassee, FL 32399


How to Get Your Real Estate License in Georgia?

Do you want to become a real estate agent and get a Georgia Real Estate License? Real Estate Express taught thousands of aspiring real estate agents in Georgia, we make it easy for you to get up to speed on the Georgia real estate license requirements.

The requirements to become a real estate agent in Georgia are clear – graduate from high school, pass background check,  complete 75-hour Salesperson Pre-license Course, and successfully pass Georgia real estate exam.

Step 1: Follow Georgia Real Estate License General Requirements:

Have a high school diploma or GED.

Pass a background check

Be at least 18 years old in order to become licensed in Georgia. If you are 17, you may sit for the exam, however, the license cannot be activated until you are 18

Step 2: Follow Georgia Real Estate License Education Requirements – Enroll Today. You must meet ONE of the following Georgia real estate license educational requirements:

Successfully complete the required 75-hour Salesperson Pre-license Course at a school approved by the Georgia Real Estate Commission, OR

Successfully complete a minimum of 10 quarter hours or six semester hours of coursework eligible for a major in real estate from a U.S. or Canadian accredited college or university or successfully complete a course in real property, agency, or contracts from a U.S. or Canadian accredited school of law, OR

Once you have completed your education requirements, you must submit your official transcript from the college, university, or school of law with your application for examination to Applied Measurement Professionals (not the Commission). Continuing education adult education, crash seminars and special short courses are not acceptable. AMP will notify you whether your coursework is acceptable

Alternatively, you may provide proof you completed at least 75 hours of pre-license course work approved by the real estate regulatory agency of another state or province of Canada. Be sure to obtain a letter from the agency that verifies that the course work is approved in that state or province.

In the first year of your licensure as a salesperson, you must take a 25-hour salesperson post-license course. If you don’t complete the post-license course during the first year, your license will lapse.

Step 3: Follow Georgia Real Estate License Exam Requirements.

Register for the examination administered by Applied Measurement Professionals and approved by the Georgia Real Estate Commission.

Pay the examination fee of $121. This amount covers all fees due for the first four years of licensure.

Successfully pass Georgia real estate exam. The minimum passing score is 72%.

Apply for your license within 12 months of the date you took the exam; if 12 months have passed, you must retake the exam

Regulatory notes

The 75-hour Georgia Prelicense course requires a LIVE, PROCTORED COURSE FINAL EXAMINATION.

Georgia Real Estate Commission

Website: http://www.grec.state.ga.us
Phone: 4046563916
Fax: 4046566650
Address: International Tower; Suite 1000 229 Peachtree Street, N.E. Atlanta, GA 30303


Requirements for the State of Hawaii

Hawaii 60-Hour Salesperson Pre-License Course

Hours Required By Hawaii: 60 hours

Final Exam Instructions for Hawaii:Each course contains a final exam. A minimum score of 70% is required to pass the final exam and can be taken three times.

Seat Time:The Hawaii Real Estate Commission requires that all students spend a minimum amount of seat time engaged in the course content. Our online course delivery system manages this requirement for you.

Note: A licensee who is issued a Hawaii real estate salesperson license during an even-numbered year shall be deemed to have completed equivalent to the continuing education hours as required by section 467-11.5, HRS, and section 16-99-90.

Sales Tax: Due to the tax law which mandates that online businesses must collect sales tax in certain states, if your state requires sales tax to be collected, it will automatically be added to the total amount due at checkout minus any donation made to The CE Shop Foundation. In addition,  if you choose to set-up a payment plan, sales tax will be added to each monthly payment plan total. For questions, please contact The CE Shop at 1.888.827.0777 or Support@TheCEShop.com.

The CE Shop Offering: 60 hours

Please Note: Within the last 20 years, if you have one or more felonies or one or more misdemeanors in your history, outstanding tax obligations with no payment plan in place, judgments please contact the Real Estate Branch, 808-586-2643, and determine whether or not you should file the Preliminary Decision Application prior to completing a pre-license course. The Preliminary Decision Application will allow the Hawaii Real Estate Commission to review your history and make a determination of either MOST LIKELY APPROVE or MOST LIKELY DENY your license application when submitted.  The decision of the Commission is non-binding, and a license candidate may submit his or her license application no matter what the Commission’s decision is for the Preliminary Decision Application.  The Preliminary Decision gives the license candidate a window of probability as to the acceptance or denial of a license application, so that the license candidate does not waste time and money on a pre-license course, if the likelihood of denial is evident. 

Reporting of Hawaii Courses: Real estate course completions are reported to the Hawaii Real Estate Commission.  Once this process has been completed, a signed certificate will be emailed to the email address you have on file.  The email will come from reporting@theceshop.com. Please be sure to check your spam folder if you didn’t receive a copy.

Expiration Date of Course: The CE Shop’s Pre-Licensing courses expire six months after the date of purchase. Each student will be granted a one-month extension at no charge, to be applied immediately after the initial six-month term. For any reactivation or extension of the course after the seventh month, The CE Shop will charge the student 20% of the current retail price of the course for each 30-day extension or partial 30-day extension in the event that the course finally terminates before the end of the final 30-day extension. Students may also elect to re-enroll for 50% of the current retail price of the course, if the course has hit the year expiration or the student is at the 7 month mark and wants to repurchase and restart the course and enrollment.  Extensions or reactivations cannot be granted beyond 12 months from the purchase of the course since, in all events, the course terminates 12 months after purchase.

Certificates: Upon completion of the course, The CE Shop will provide students with an electronic certificate of completion. Certificates will remain in your account for a minimum of five years, should you need additional copies. Please refer to your license application to determine if you need to submit your certificate of completion with your license request. Course completion dates are recorded using Central Standard Time. Please note that the date of your certificate of completion will reflect this.

Hawaii Real Estate Branch
Street Address: King Kalakaua Building, 335 Merchant Street, Rm 333, Honolulu, HI 96813
Telephone: 808.586.2643
Hawaii Real Estate Branch Website


How to Get Your Real Estate License in Illinois?

Do you want to become a real estate agent and get an Illinois Real Estate License? Real Estate Express taught thousands of aspiring real estate agents in Illinois; we make it easy for you to get up to speed on the Illinois real estate license requirements.

The requirements to become a real estate agent in Illinois are clear – be 18 or older, graduate from high school, complete 75 hours of pre-license coursework  and finally, complete the Illinois real estate license application.

Step 1: Comply with the General Illinois Real Estate License Requirements:

To get your Illinois real estate license, you must be at least 18 years old

Graduate from high school or obtain the equivalent of a high school degree (GED)

Step 2: Meet the Educational Real Estate License Requirements in Illinois by completing the following courses – Enroll Today

A total of 75 hours of pre-license coursework at a real estate school approved by the Department of Financial and Professional Regulation

Step 3: Take the Illinois real estate license exam

You will need a scaled score of 75 or better to pass your Illinois Real Estate license exam.

Step 4: Complete the online real estate broker application

llinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation
Website: http://www.idfpr.com/dre.asp
Phone: 8005606420
Fax: 2177823390
Address: Real Estate Division 320 West Washington St. 3rd. Floor Springfield, IL 62786


Indiana

1. Meet the general Indiana real estate license requirements.

Be at least 18 years old.

Have a high school diploma or its equivalent.

2. Complete a 90-hour real estate broker pre-license course – Enroll Today

Complete an approved 90-hour pre-license course to meet the Educational Real Estate License Requirements in Indiana

3. Pass the Indiana real estate license exam

Pass your real estate exam with a score of at least 75%

4. Apply for your Indiana real estate license

Complete the application, which you will receive from the testing service when you pass the exams.

You must be sponsored by a broker at the time of your application.

Submit your application for licensure within one year of the date of passing your real estate exam.

Limitations

Real estate broker license applicants must complete an approved 90-hour real estate pre-licensing course. This course is divided into three 30-hour sections. At the conclusion of each of the three sections, students are required to pass a PROCTORED 100-question exam.

During the first two years after the broker’s license is issued, licensees must take and pass at least 30 hours of postlicensing education instead of continuing education.

There is no limit on the number of hours allowed to be taken online; all QE hours can be taken online. The 90-hour course must be completed, including passing all three of the proctored course section exams, within six months of enrollment. The date of purchase is considered the start date of the program. If you are unable to complete the course in that time frame, please contact Customer Service for information about your available options.

Governing Agency

Name: Indiana Professional Licensing Agency Phone: 3172348800 Fax: 3172334236 Website: http://www.in.gov/pla/boards.htm Address: 402 West Washington Street, Room W072 Indianapolis, IN 46204


Iowa

1. Meet the general Iowa real estate license requirements.

There are no residency or citizenship requirements for an Iowa real estate license. But, you must be at least 18 years old.

Undergo a criminal history and background investigation. Keep in mind this process alone can take up to a minimum of four weeks, possibly more, and can be started many months ahead of submitting your license application. Criminal history backgrounds are valid for 210 calendar days.

2. Meet the Educational Real Estate License Requirements in Iowa – Enroll Today

Complete a 60-hour pre-license course.

Complete the following three courses:

12 hours of a Buying Practices course

12 hours of a Listing Practices course

12 hours of a Developing Professionalism and Ethical Practices course

All the courses must have been completed less than 12 months prior to the time the Commission’s receives your completed application. You may take the courses in any order.

3. Meet Iowa real estate license application requirements:

Pass your state exam.

Exam results are valid until the last working day of the sixth month following the exam pass date (For example, a test passed on any day in January is valid until June 30 of that same year.)

Submit a completed application, which you will receive from the testing service when you pass the exams.

Be sponsored by broker at the time of your application.

You cannot apply for an inactive license.

Limitations

Salesperson candidates are required to complete the 60 hour course Iowa Real Estate Principles and Practice. Examinees are required to show their course completion certificate at the examination site as evidence that 60 classroom or computer-based hours of real estate principles and practices have been completed.

In addition all persons applying for a salesperson license beginning January 1, 2009 must show evidence that the following three courses have been completed: 12 hours of Buying Practices, 12 hours of Listing Practices and 12 hours of Developing Professionalism and Ethical Practices. This education is in addition to the 60-hour salesperson prelicense course. The additional three 12 hour courses MUST be completed in a classroom setting.

Students are given 6 months from their registration date to complete their 60-hour pre-license course. If unable to complete in this timeframe, students are required to re-register for the course and take it from the beginning.

Governing Agency

Name: Iowa Real Estate Commission Phone: 5152817393 Fax: 5152817411 Website: http://www.state.ia.us/government/com/prof/sales/home.html Address: 200 East Grand Ave. Ste 350 Des Moines, IA 50309


Kansas

How to Get Your Real Estate License in Kansas?

Do you want to become a real estate agent and get a Kansas Real Estate License? Real Estate Express taught thousands of aspiring real estate agents in Kansas, we make it easy for you to get up to speed on the Kansas real estate license requirements.

Step 1: Comply with the General Kansas Real Estate License Requirements:

Must be at least 18 years old in order to get licensed in Kansas

Have a high school diploma or GED in order to get licensed in Kansas

Step 2: Complete 60 hours of courses – Enroll Today

Complete a 30-hour Principles of Real Estate course.

Complete a 30-hour Kansas Practice Course. This applies to both residents and non-residents. The certificate from this course must be filed within six months of course completion.

If you are eligible for licensure through requirements met in another jurisdiction, then the Principles of Real Estate pre-license course isn’t required.

Step 3: Pass a background check

Applicants must request KBI/FBI background check form (REL-150) from the Kansas Real Estate Commission.

Step 4: Take the Kansas real estate license exam

Pass both the general and state sections of the Kansas real estate Licensing Exam within 12 months of completing your Kansas Practice course. After passing your exam, you will receive an Application for License.

Step 5: File your Kansas real estate license application. The Application for License must be filed within either:

Six months of the exam pass date. If sections were passed on different dates,

  • the earlier date starts the clock.
  • Six months of the earliest document date (ex.: Certificates, Reports, etc.)

Name: Kansas Real Estate Commission Phone: 7852963411 Fax: 7852961771 Website: http://www.krec.ks.gov/home Address: 700 SW Jackson St Ste 404 Topeka, KS 66603


Kentucky

1. Comply with the General Kentucky Real Estate License Requirements:

Be at least 18 years old

Have a high school diploma or GED in order to get licensed in Kentucky

2. Complete 96 hours of courses or 6 credit hours – Enroll Today

Complete either 6 credit hours in real estate courses from an accredited college

Or 96 classroom hours in real estate classes from an approved proprietary school.

3. Pass background check

Applicants must complete an FBI criminal background check prior to taking the Kentucky licensure exam.

4. Take the Kentucky real estate license exam

Pass both the general and state sections of the Kentucky Licensing Exam with a score of 75% or higher.

Beginning JULY 1, 2015, candidates who pass one portion of the Kentucky Salesperson or Kentucky Broker exam (national or state law) and fail the other portion may retake the failed portion within 4 months of passing the first portion. After 4 months of the initial testing date, both portions must be retaken. Once both portions have been passed, within the required 4 month period, a candidate will be given the application form at the testing center and will have 60 days to apply for their license. After 60 days, the entire exam is voided.

5. File your Kentucky real estate license application.

You must apply for a real estate sales associate license within 60 days of passing your real estate exam.

Student Protection Fund
Pursuant to KRS 165A.450 All licensed schools, resident and nonresident, shall be required to contribute to a student protection fund. The fund shall be used to reimburse eligible Kentucky students, to pay off debts, including refunds to students enrolled or on leave of absence by not being enrolled for one (1) academic year or less from the school at the time of the closing, incurred due to the closing of a school, discontinuance of a program, loss of license, or loss of accreditation by a school or program.


Filing a Claim Against the KY Student Protection Fund
To file a claim against the Kentucky Student Protection Fund, each person filing must submit a signed and completed Form for Claims Against the Student Protection Fund, Form PE-38 and provide the requested information to the following address: 
Kentucky Commission on Proprietary Education
500 Mero Street, 4th Floor
Frankfort, Kentucky 40601

Forms may be located at www.kcpe.ky.gov.

Limitations

There is no limit to the number of QE hours that may be taken online. Students cannot receive credit for studying more than 9 hours per day, therefore, the proctored final exam will not be accessible until the 11th day after starting the course.

Governing Agency

Name: Kentucky Real Estate Commission Phone: 5024297250 Fax: 5024297246 Website: http://www.krec.ky.gov Address: 656 Chamberlin Ave., Suite B Frankfort, KY 40601


Louisiana

Comply with the General Louisiana Real Estate License Requirements:

Be at least 18 years old in order to get licensed in Louisiana

Have a high school diploma or GED in order to get licensed in Louisiana

2. Complete 90 hours in courses – Enroll Today

Meet the Educational Real Estate License Requirements in Louisiana by completing 90 hours of real estate education in courses approved by the Louisiana Real Estate Commission.

3. Pass a background check

Applicants must submit a criminal background history

Individuals who have been convicted of a felony will need to follow the felony applicant process.

4. Take the Louisiana real estate license exam

Pass the Louisiana Licensing Exam with a score of 75% or higher.

5. Find a licensed broker to support you through the process.

You must be sponsored by a licensed real estate broker prior to getting your Louisiana real estate license.

6. Provide proof of mandatory errors and omissions insurance prior to issuance of your license.

All active Louisiana licensees licensed in accordance with the provisions of R.S. 37:1430, et seq., are mandated to carry errors and omissions insurance

Limitations

Beginning July 2019, all Salesperson applicants and Broker applicants who have never been licensed in Louisiana will be required to create an account on StateReporting.com to obtain an “Applicant ID.” This Applicant ID will be used in the reporting of course completions through StateReporting.com. Louisiana Salespeople applying for a Broker license can use their Sales license number instead of registering for an Applicant ID.

Students must provide their Applicant ID to the school before completion of the pre-license coursework so their education can be recorded and tracked prior to obtaining their real estate license number. Use this link to register with StateReporting.com and obtain an Applicant ID so the school may electronically submit your course completion(s): https://www.statereporting.com/account/applicant/romnkv2

Roster

Roster Required: yes Roster Process: Rosters are submitted electronically every month. Rosters are not submitted until the student has passed the course final exam and provided his/her StateReporting.com Applicant ID mentioned below to the school.

Salesperson applicants and Broker applicants who have never been licensed in Louisiana must register with StateReporting.com as a License Applicant prior to course completion, and course completion information must be received electronically from the school to complete the examination registration process. Use this link to register with StateReporting.com and obtain an Applicant ID so the school may electronically submit your course completion(s): https://www.statereporting.com/account/applicant/romnkv2 Roster Sent: Every 30 days

Governing Agency

Name: Louisiana Real Estate Commission Phone: 2259251923 Fax: 2259254501 Website: https://lrec.gov/ Address: 9071 Interline Avenue Baton Rouge, LA 70898


Maine


Maryland

MD 60-Hour Principles and Practices of Real Estate for Salespersons Course

Hours Required: 60 hours

Final Exams: The real estate board requires that your final course exam be proctored. A passing score of 70% is required. Final exams may only be taken twice.

Seat Time: All students must spend a minimum amount of time engaged in the course content. The online course delivery system manages this requirement for you.

The CE Shop is an approved real estate school in Maryland.

Reporting:  Real estate course completions are reported to PSI. In order to report course completions to PSI, we need each student’s Social Security number. Please call our Customer Support team to give them this information – 888.827.0777.

Proctoring Final Exams: The state requires that your final course exam be proctored. You’ll need to schedule an appointment with an online proctor in advance. You can find full details of the proctoring process here. A passing score of 70% is required. Upon passing the final course exam you and your proctor will be asked to sign an affidavit verifying your identity as the student who completed the course and the final course exam.

Expiration Date of Course: The CE Shop’s Pre-Licensing courses expire six months after the date of purchase. Each student will be granted a one-month extension at no charge, to be applied immediately after the initial six-month term. For any reactivation or extension of the course after the seventh month, The CE Shop will charge the student 20% of the current retail price of the course for each 30-day extension or partial 30-day extension in the event that the course finally terminates before the end of the final 30-day extension. Students may also elect to re-enroll for 50% of the current retail price of the course, if the course has hit the year expiration or the student is at the 7 month mark and wants to repurchase and restart the course and enrollment.  Extensions or reactivations cannot be granted beyond 12 months from the purchase of the course since, in all events, the course terminates 12 months after purchase.

Certificates: Once The CE Shop has received the signed affidavit, your certificate of course completion will become available to download (and via email). Upon completion of the course, The CE Shop will provide students with an electronic Certificate of Completion. Certificates will remain in your account for a minimum of five years, should you need additional copies. Please refer to your license application to determine if you need to submit your Certificate of Completion with your license request. Course completion dates are recorded using Central Standard Time. Please note that the date of your Certificate of Completion will reflect this.

School Catalog: You can find a copy of the school’s catalog specific to the distance education Pre-Licensing course here.

Maryland Real Estate Commission

Street Address: 500 North Calvert Street, 3rd Floor, Baltimore, MD 21202-3651

Telephone: 410.230.6230

Fax: 410.333.0023

Maryland Real Estate Commission Website


Massachusetts

Massachusetts 40-Hour Salesperson Pre-License Course

Hours Required By The State: 40 hours

Final Exam Instructions: This course contains a final exam. A minimum score of 75% is required to pass the final exam.

Seat Time: The Massachusetts Department of Real Estate requires that all students spend a minimum amount of seat time engaged in the course content. Our online course delivery system manages this requirement for you.

Instructor Interaction: The Commonwealth of Massachusetts requires salesperson license applicants to successfully complete 40 hours of pre-licensing education. Live interaction between an instructor and students is required, and this course will provide that online. While all 40-hours of the course content are delivered online, designated portions (approximately 21 of the 40 required hours) are only accessible when an instructor will be available for live interaction.

The CE Shop is an approved real estate CE School in Massachusetts; license number 1274

The CE Shop Offering: 40 hours

Reporting: The state does not require schools to report pre-licensing completions.

Expiration Date of Course: The CE Shop’s Pre-Licensing courses expire six months after the date of purchase. Each student will be granted a one-month extension at no charge, to be applied immediately after the initial six-month term. For any reactivation or extension of the course after the seventh month, The CE Shop will charge the student 20% of the current retail price of the course for each 30-day extension or partial 30-day extension in the event that the course finally terminates before the end of the final 30-day extension. Students may also elect to re-enroll for 50% of the current retail price of the course, if the course has hit the year expiration or the student is at the 7 month mark and wants to repurchase and restart the course and enrollment.  Extensions or reactivations cannot be granted beyond 12 months from the purchase of the course since, in all events, the course terminates 12 months after purchase.

Certificates: Upon completion of the course, The CE Shop will provide students with an electronic certificate of completion. Certificates will remain in your account for a minimum of five years, should you need additional copies. Please refer to your license application to determine if you need to submit your certificate of completion with your license request. Course completion dates are recorded using Central Standard Time. Please note that the date of your certificate of completion will reflect this.

Division of Professional Licensure – Board of Registration of Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons

Street Address: 1000 Washington Street, Suite 710, Boston, MA 02118-6100

Telephone: 617.727.2373

Fax: 617.727.1944

Division of Professional Licensure – Board of Registration of Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons Website


Minnesota

1. Comply with the General Minnesota Real Estate License Requirements:

Be at least 18 years of age.

2. Complete 90 hours in courses – Enroll Today

Meet the Educational Real Estate License Requirements in Minnesota by completing 90 hours of real estate pre-license education, including three 30-hour approved courses (Course I, II, III)

Course I must be completed prior to taking your real estate salesperson exam; Course II and Course III may be completed either before or after the exam, but must be completed prior to applying for your Minnesota real estate license.

3. Take the Minnesota real estate license exam

Pass the Minnesota real estate salesperson licensing exam before you apply for your license.

Prior to registering for your exam, be sure to successfully complete Course I of your pre-license education.

4. Find a sponsoring broker

You can’t become a licensed real estate salesperson in Minnesota without first being associated with an actively licensed real estate broker.

5. File your Minnesota real estate license application:

The real estate broker you are associated with must submit your application for a Minnesota real estate license. Once the application is approved by the Commerce Department your broker will be able to print out your license.

6. Know the cost of a Minnesota real estate license

$65.00 to take the licensing examination

$130.00 for the licensing fee

Limitations

Students cannot receive credit for studying more than 8 hours per day, therefore, the proctored final exam for each 30-hour course will not be accessible until the 4th day after starting the course.

The application for your salesperson’s license must be submitted within one year of passing the examination. Otherwise, you will need to retake the examination and pass it again.

Roster

Roster Required: yes Roster Process: Completion certificates are not activated until the student has passed the proctored course final exam and the Exam Proctor Affidavit has been received by the school.

Rosters are submitted electronically twice per month (on or around the 1st and 15th of the month) through PulsePortal for students who have passed the proctored course final exam and returned the Exam Proctor Affidavit within the previous 15 days. Roster Sent: Every 15 days

Governing Agency

Name: Minnesota Department of Commerce Phone: 6515391599 Fax: 6515390112 Website: https://mn.gov/commerce/licensees/ Address: 85 7th Place East, Suite 500 St. Paul, MN 55101


Michigan

1. Comply with the General Michigan Real Estate License Requirements:

Be at least 18 years old

2. Complete 40 hours of courses – Enroll Today

Complete a required 40-hour Michigan Real Estate Fundamentals course, which includes at least 4 hours of civil rights law and equal opportunity in housing.

Your real estate school will submit your certificate of completion to the State of Michigan. Always keep a copy of completion certificates for your records.

3. File your Michigan real estate license application

Apply for licensure within 36 months of completing your pre-license course.

4. Take the Michigan real estate license exam

Once your application has been approved, you will receive an email from the State of Michigan notifying you of your authorization to register for the exam.

Register for and pass the salesperson’s exam with the exam provider, Psychological Services, Inc. (PSI). To schedule your exam, visit the PSI website.

5. Broker sponsor requirements in Michigan

You do not need to have a broker at the time you submit the license application.

Upon completion of your real estate exam and in order to practice as a real estate salesperson, you must be sponsored by a licensed Michigan Employing Broker.

6. Know the cost of a Michigan real estate licenseMichigan real estate license would cost:

Michigan real estate license application: $88

Michigan real estate license examinations: $79

Limitations

Michigan Real Estate requires a timing mechanism be enabled for all pre-license education courses to ensure that courses cannot be completed in less time than the approved credit hours. Application for licensure must be submitted within 36 months of completing the pre-license course.

Roster

Roster Required: yes Roster Process: Rosters are emailed to the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs on a weekly basis on Tuesdays. We report completions from the previous Tuesday through Monday. Roster Sent: Every 7 days

Governing Agency

Name: Michigan State Board of Real Estate Brokers & Salespersons Phone: 5172419288 Fax: 5173731044 Website: http://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-72600_72602_72731_72871—,00.html Address: Bureau of Commercial Services Licensing Division Testing & Education Services Lansing, MI 48913


Mississippi

1. Comply with the General Mississippi Real Estate License Requirements:

Be at least 18 years old

Be a resident of Mississippi when you apply for your Mississippi real estate license.

2. Complete a 60-hour real estate pre-license course – Enroll Today

Meet the Educational Real Estate License Requirements in Mississippi by completing 60 hours of state-approved pre-license education.

3. File your Mississippi real estate license application

Complete and return the Application for Resident Salesperson License.

4. Take the Mississippi real estate license exam

Upon notice of application approval, pass both the general and state portions of the state licensing exam. The general portion requires a minimum score of 70% and the state portion requires a minimum score of 75%.

Once you pass the state licensing exam, you’ll receive a temporary license that will expire one year from licensing.

5. Know the costs of a Mississippi real estate license

The fee is $75 for the 2 examination portions, regardless if you take 1 or both examination portions. Examination retakes are $75 for 1 or both examination portions.

Mississippi registration fees are not refundable. Registration fees expire after one year of registering

Limitations

Students are given six months from enrollment to complete an individual course.

Students cannot receive credit for completing more than 8 hours in a course per day. At this rate, students are not allowed to complete a course in less than 8 days, therefore, the first attempt at the LIVE, PROCTORED COURSE FINAL EXAMINATION is not accessible until at least the 8th day after starting the course (provided the student has completed all units and unit quizzes).

Governing Agency

Name: Mississippi Real Estate Commission Phone: 6013216970 Fax: 6019322990 Website: http://www.mrec.state.ms.us Address: Lefleur’s Bluff Tower, Suite 300 Jackson, MS 39211


Missouri

The requirements to become a real estate agent in Missouri are clear – be 18 or older, 48-hour pre-examination course completion,  24-hour practice course then pass Missouri real estate license exam.

Step 1. Meet Missouri  real estate license requirements.
To get your Missouri real estate license, you must be at least 18 years of age and show evidence of being fingerprinted through the approved statewide vendor

Step 2. Meet ONE of the following Missouri requirements: – Enroll Today

Option 1

Earn a Certificate of Satisfactory Completion from a 48-hour pre-exam salesperson course. The certification must come from an accredited Missouri real estate school on or before the exam date.

Pass both the Missouri salesperson examination, and complete the 24-hour Missouri Real Estate Practice Course (MREP) before you submit your application for the license.

The Missouri Real Estate Practice Course can be taken before or after the exam date. Make sure you take it after you complete the 48-hour pre-exam salesperson course.

Submit your application for license within six months of completing the 48-hour pre-exam salesperson course.

Option 2

Be a licensed attorney and pass BOTH portions of the Missouri salesperson examination (Education requirements are waived).

Submit your application for the real estate license within six months of passing the exam.

If you don’t pass both portions of the exam in one sitting, then you must submit your application for license within six months of the first passing exam score.

Provide a copy of your Bar card with the application for Missouri real estate license.

Option 3

Hold a current and active real estate license in another jurisdiction.

Pass the STATE portion of the Missouri salesperson exam, AND

Complete the 24-hour Missouri Real Estate Practice Course (MREP) prior to submitting application for license.

The Missouri Real Estate Practice course can be taken before or after exam date. Be sure to submit your application for the license within six months of passing the exam.

A current license (history) certification issued within three months from the real estate commission of the state/jurisdiction where the currently license is held, must be provided with the application for licensure. A copy of license is not acceptable.

Missouri Real Estate Commission
Website: http://pr.mo.gov/realestate.asp
Phone: 5737510293
Fax: 5737512777
Address: 3605 Missouri Blvd. PO Box 1339 Jefferson City, MO 65102


Montana

  1. 1. Comply with the General Montana Real Estate License Requirements:
    • Be at least 18 years of age to obtain a real estate license in Montana.
    • Must have received credit for completion of 2 years of full curriculum study at an accredited high school or equivalent.
  2. 2. Meet the Educational Real Estate License Requirements in Montana – Enroll Today
    • Tenth grade education or higher
    • Sixty hours of additional pre-licensing instruction from a real estate school approved by the Board
  3. 3. Take the Montana real estate license exam:
    • Pass the Montana Real Estate Examination with a score of 80% or better on the uniform portion and 70% or better on the state portion.
    • Pass the Montana Real Estate license exam within the past 12 months.
  4. 4. Get broker affiliation
    • Must be employed or under contract with a licensed Montana broker with a supervising broker endorsement.
  5. 5. Submit Montana real estate license application.
    • The following documents and additional forms are required in addition to the basic application. Exam results of passing the Montana state portion of the Salesperson examination. Official license verification from states and jurisdictions in which the applicant holds or has ever held a professional license of any type.
    • In cases when you have been disciplined in the past, include a detailed explanation on the event(s) and documentation from the source (licensing board, federal agencies/programs, or civil/criminal court proceedings) such as initiating/charging documents, final disposition/judgement documents, etc.

How much does it cost to get a Montana real estate license?

The cost of a Montana real estate license is:

  • $185.00 Montana real estate license application fees (It includes $35.00 Recovery Account Fees)

Governing Agency

Name: Montana Board of Realty Regulation Phone: 4068412324 Fax: 4068412323 Website: http://bsd.dli.mt.gov/license/bsd_boards/rre_board/board_page.asp Address: 301 South Park, 4th Floor Post Office Box 200513 Helena, MT 59620


Nebraska

Nebraska pplicants are required to complete 60 clock hours (2 courses) in pre-license education

Roster

Roster Required: yes Roster Process: A list of students including their address and their ss# must be forwarded to the Commission within 30 days after completion. Roster Sent: Every 0 days

Governing Agency

Name: Nebraska Real Estate Commission Phone: 4024712004 Fax: 4024714492 Website: http://www.nrec.state.ne.us/ Address: 301 Centennial Mall South P.O. Box 94667 Lincoln, NE 68509


Nevada

1. Comply with the General Nevada Real Estate License Requirements:

Be at least 18 years old in order to get licensed in Nevada

2. Meet the Educational Real Estate License Requirements in Nevada by completing the following: – Enroll Today

45 hours or 3 college credits of Real Estate Principles

45 hours or 3 college credits of Real Estate Law (which must include 18 hours of Nevada law)

3. Pass a background check

You will be required to have two separate fingerprint cards that have been processed through a government agency. The fingerprints must have been taken within a year prior to applying for your real estate license.

4. Take the Nevada real estate license exam

Pass the Nevada real estate licence State exam and National exam within the last 12 months. (Licensed out-of-state applicants are not required to take the national exam if applying for equivalent license.)

Show proof of passing the national and Nevada state real estate exams within one year of the application date.

You may also use your national examination results from another state (if dated within one year of the date of application for a Nevada real estate license) but you must show proof of those results.

How much does it cost to get a Nevada real estate license?

The Nevada real estate license costs $125.00

Which states have real estate license reciprocity with Nevada?

Nevada has reciprocity with following states:

  • Arizona
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Minnesota
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Washington
  • West Virginia

Limitations

Real Estate Express does not offer placement assistance. Placement in a job is not guaranteed nor promised to anyone enrolled in our program. The person signing the enrollment agreement attests with his/her signature that that person has received a copy of the current catalog and enrollment agreement, as well as read and understood the documents and that the catalog is part of the enrollment agreement.

The Nevada Real Estate Division requires that students to complete a 90-hour real estate salesperson pre-license course before they are eligible to take their state licensing exam and apply for a license. Real Estate Express does not grant credit for previous education and training.

Pre-licensing courses may be taken online. Online courses must include at least two progress exams in addition to the final exam. The final exam must be closed-book with a proctor present.

Governing Agency

Name: Nevada Division of Real Estate Phone: 7024864033 Fax: 7024864275 Website: http://red.nv.gov/ Address: 3300 W. Sahara Ave., Suite 350 Las Vegas, NV 89102


New York

Do you want to become a real estate agent and get a New York Real Estate License? Real Estate Express taught thousands of aspiring real estate agents in New York, we make it easy for you to get up to speed on the New York real estate license requirements.

The requirements to become a real estate agent in New York are clear –  complete 75 hours of New York real estate license education, and pass the New York real estate license exam.

Step 1: Meet New York Real Estate License requirements:

Be 18 years old or older to be issued a New York real estate license

In addition, you must have no felony charges on record

Submit proof of US residency

Step 2: Complete a 75-hour salesperson qualifying education course in real estate approved by the New York Department of State. – Enroll Today

Step 3: Pass the New York real estate license exam administered by the New York Department of State.

Applicants will be allowed 1 1/2 hours to complete the test

New York real estate license exam is offered in the following languages: Spanish, Korean, Russian and Chinese. If you wish to take the exam in one of these four languages, please notify an exam proctor when you report to the test center.

Step 4: Submit the following with your New York real estate license application:

Certification of Satisfactory Completion section of the application completed by the New York Department of State. Typically, the certificate of course completion issued by the school satisfies this documentation.

Examination notification must be submitted with your application form

License fee

Name of your New York State licensed real estate broker

Online Limitations

If you do not complete your course within the 6 month access time you can purchase an extension. If you do not complete your course within the one year time period permitted per New York License Law Rule 176.25, you will be required to re-register for your course and take the entire course over again from the beginning.

SCHEDULING YOUR FINAL EXAM: The state of New York requires that the school schedule your final exam with a proctor. When you have completed at least 75% of the course units, you will need to review the Proctor list in the Documents section, select a proctor location that is convenient, and fill out this form to schedule your final exam. We require at least 3 business days notice to schedule your final exam, however, it may take longer depending on proctor availability. Your course final exam must be completed prior to your course expiration date or you will be required to purchase an extension to access that portion of your course. There is an additional fee to purchase an extension and the extension must be purchased before the proctored exam will be scheduled.

Rescheduling Your Proctored Exam: Should you need to cancel your proctored exam, you will be responsible for contacting the proctor directly. To reschedule your exam, you must submit a new scheduling request for the re-scheduled date. Students are not permitted to reschedule their exams with the proctor directly as the state requires the school to set those appointments.

You have ONE complimentary reschedule of your exam. After the first reschedule, there will be a $25 fee for each subsequent change. Rescheduling fees must be paid before your proctor appointment will be rescheduled.

Regulatory notes

This New York real estate license information is provided as a convenience only and is subject to change at any time. It’s ultimately the responsibility of the licensee to be sure that he or she is meeting all requirements for each license and corresponding renewal period.

Students are advised to check with the appropriate New York regulatory agencies prior to purchasing courses to confirm that the program/course work will satisfy initial or renewal licensing or certification of that agency.

New York State Department of State Division of Licensing Services

Phone: 5184744429 Fax: 5184736648 Address: 99 Washington Avenue, One Commerce Plaza 6th Floor, Albany, NY 12231


North Carolina

NORTH CAROLINA REQUIREMENT DETAIL FOR REAL ESTATE PRE-LICENSING EDUCATION

Hours Required By The State: 75 hours

Final Exam Instructions: Each course contains a final exam which must be proctored. A minimum score of 75% is required to pass the final exam.

Seat Time: All students must spend a minimum amount of time engaged in the course content. The online course delivery system manages this requirement for you.

The CE Shop Offering: 75 hours 

Reporting: Real estate course completions are reported to the North Carolina Real Estate Commission. 

Final Exam Instructions and Proctoring Information: The state requires that your final course exam be proctored and you achieve a score of 75% or higher to pass.  Upon course completion, you will be presented with a final exam instruction slide which explains the proctor process, in detail. You’ll need to schedule an appointment with an online proctor in advance. You can find full details of the proctoring process here. Upon passing the final course exam you will be asked to sign an affidavit verifying your identity as the student who completed the course and the final course exam.

Expiration Date of Course: The CE Shop’s Pre-Licensing courses expire six months after the date of purchase. Extensions cannot be granted beyond 6 months from the purchase of the course.  The course terminates 6 months after purchase.

Certificates: Upon completion of the course, The CE Shop will provide students with an electronic certificate of completion. Certificates will remain in your account for a minimum of five years, should you need additional copies. Please refer to your license application to determine if you need to submit your certificate of completion with your license request. Course completion dates are recorded using Central Standard Time. Please note that the date of your certificate of completion will reflect this.

North Carolina Real Estate Commission

Street Address: 1313 Navaho Drive, Raleigh, NC 27609

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 17100, Raleigh, NC 27619-7100

Telephone: 919.875.3700

Fax: 919.877.4216

License Renewal Website


Ohio

Ohio Requirement Details for Real Estate Education

Davis College is recognized by the State Board of Career Colleges and Schools (State of Ohio Certificate of Registration No. 81-02-0731B).

Hours Required By The State: 120 hours

  • Real Estate Principles and Practices (40 hours)
  • Ohio Real Estate Law, including instruction in civil rights, housing discrimination and desegregation problems (40 hours)
  • Real Estate Appraisal (20 hours)
  • Real Estate Finance (20 hours)

Final Exams: Final exams must be passed with a minimum of 70%.

Reporting: The state does not require schools to report course completions.

Expiration Date of Course: Davis College’s pre-licensing courses expire six months after the date of purchase. Each student will be granted a one-month extension at no charge, to be applied immediately after the initial six-month term. For any reactivation or extension of the course after the seventh month, The CE Shop will charge the student 20% of the current retail price of the course for each 30-day extension or partial 30-day extension in the event that the course finally terminates before the end of the final 30-day extension. Students may also elect to re-enroll for 50% of the current retail price of the course, if the course has hit the year expiration or the student is at the 7 month mark and wants to repurchase and restart the course and enrollment.  Extensions or reactivations cannot be granted beyond 12 months from the purchase of the course since, in all events, the course terminates 12 months after purchase.

Certificates: Immediately upon real estate course completion, the student will be provided an electronic copy of the course certificate of completion. Certificates will remain in your account for a minimum of five years, should you need additional copies at a later time.  Please refer to your license application to determine if you need to submit your certificate(s) of completion with your application. Course completion dates are recorded using Central Standard Time. Please note that the date on your certificate of completion will reflect this

College Credit: Students wishing to receive college credit post-completion will follow Davis College’s established process and guidelines. Davis will award 2 credits for each of the 40 hour courses (Principles and Practices and Real Estate Law) and 1 credit for each of the 20 hour courses (Real Estate Appraisal and Real Estate Finance) for a total of 6 credits. The cost per credit is $100.00.

Davis College

Address: 4747 Monroe Street, Toledo, OH, 43623

Phone: 419.473.2700

Email

Learn More

Enrollment Agreement

For enrollment questions, contact Davis College at 419.473.2700. For technical support, contact The CE Shop at 855.759.0011.

Ohio Department of Commerce – Division of Real Estate and Professional Licensing

Street Address: 77 South High Street, 20th Floor, Columbus, OH 43215-6133

Telephone: 614.466.4100

Fax: 614.644.0584

Ohio Department of Commerce – Division of Real Estate and Professional Licensing Website


Oklahoma

1. Comply with the General Oklahoma Real Estate License Requirements:

Be at least 18 years of age to obtain a real estate license in Oklahoma

Be of good moral character

2. Meet the Educational Real Estate License Requirements in Oklahoma – Enroll Today

Submit evidence to the commission of successful completion of an approved 90 hour basic real estate course, OR

Submit proof of completion of six college credit hours in a real estate discipline

Complete your education within the previous 36 months prior to application

3. Get a broker affiliation. Sign with a broker before you take the exam. But, this isn’t a pre-exam requirement.

4. Pass a national background check that includes being fingerprinted

5. Pass the Oklahoma real estate license exam: The Oklahoma real estate license exam consists of 120 multiple-choice questions (to be completed within 3 hours)

80 questions on the national portion

40 questions on the state-specific portion

How much does it cost to get an Oklahoma real estate license?

An Oklahoma real estate license costs:

  • $41 for Application for Real Estate License- with a completed fingerprint card with all information complete including a photo, proof of citizenship and proof of education.

Governing Agency

Name: Oklahoma Real Estate Commission Phone: 4055213387 Fax: 4055228564 Website: http://orec.ok.gov/ Address: Denver N Davison Building 1915 N Stiles Ave, Suite 200 Oklahoma City, OK 73105


Oregon

Oregon Requirement Details for Real Estate Pre Licensing Education

Hours Required By The State: 150 hours

The CE Shop’s Offering: 150 hours

Seat Time: The state requires that all students spend a minimum amount of seat time engaged in the course content. Our online course delivery system manages this requirement for you.

The CE Shop is an approved real estate CE School in Oregon; license number 1015

Final Exams: Final exams must be passed with at least a 75% and may be taken as many times as necessary in order to pass. 

Reporting: Real estate pre-licensing course completions are reported to the exam vendor, PSI. The state requires schools to report course completions within three to five days fromt he course completion date. Course completions will be reported within this time frame.  

Expiration Date of Course: The CE Shop’s pre-licensing courses in Oregon will expire one year after the date of purchase. The CE Shop will allow students to purchase a new course at a 50% discount of the current retail price of the new course. Each course will have an expiration date listed in the student’s account.

Certificates: Upon completion of the course, The CE Shop will provide students with an electronic certificate of completion. Certificates will remain in your account for a minimum of five years, should you need additional copies. Please refer to your license application to determine if you need to submit your certificate of completion with your license request. Course completion dates are recorded using Central Standard Time. Please note that the date of your certificate of completion will reflect this.

Additional Licensing Information:

Post-Licensing: Brokers renewing active for the first time must complete the 27-hour Broker Advanced Practices (BAP) course and the 3-hour LARRC course.

Oregon Real Estate Agency

Street Address: 1177 Center St. NE, Salem, OR 97301-2505

Telephone: 503.378.4170

Fax: 503.378.3256

Oregon Real Estate Agency Website


Pennsylvania

Do you want to become a real estate agent and get a Pennsylvania Real Estate License? Real Estate Express taught thousands of aspiring real estate agents in Pennsylvania, we make it easy for you to get up to speed on the Pennsylvania real estate license requirements.

The requirements to become a real estate agent in Pennsylvania are clear – be 18 or older, complete two required courses, pass real estate license exam and, finally, complete the Pennsylvania real estate license application.

Step 1: Meet the general Pennsylvania real estate license requirements:

To get your Pennsylvania real estate license, you must be at least 18 years of age.

You must complete a Criminal Background Check by the State Police where you reside dated within 90 days of submitting the application.

Step 2: Meet the Educational Real Estate License Requirements in Pennsylvania – Enroll Today

Complete the 30-hour Real Estate Fundamentals course

Complete the 45-hour Real Estate Practice course

Step 3: Pass the Pennsylvania real estate exam

Have successfully passed both the state and national portions of the PSI Salesperson Real Estate Exam

Have completed, signed, and submitted the licensing application provided by the Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission, along with the required fee

Submit a completed Pennsylvania Real Estate license application to the Commission with a sworn statement from the broker with whom the applicant desires to be affiliated

Provide official transcripts evidencing the acquisition of degrees or course credits required by Pennsylvania state code 35.272(a)(2)

Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission

Phone: 7177833658 Fax: 7177870250 Address: 2601 North Third St. (Penn Center) Harrisburg, PA 17110


South Carolina

An applicant who does not hold a current real estate license in another state must:

1. Meet the requirements. Be a U.S. citizen, permanent resident alien or legally present in the U.S, and be at least 18 years old; Provide a physical address for contact by the Commission; Show proof of high school graduation or the equivalent; Submit to a Commission approved criminal background check.

2. Complete an approved 60-hour South Carolina real estate salesperson prelicensing course (Unit I) – Enroll Today. Before you can sit for the South Carolina real estate salesperson license exam, you must successfully complete an approved South Carolina 60-hour salesperson prelicensing course in fundamentals of real estate principles and practices, often called “Unit I.” You have 5 years to pass the South Carolina licensing exam after completing the course. If you miss the deadline, you must retake the course.

3. Apply for Examination Eligibility. After completing the Unit I education, apply for Examination Eligibility from the Commission by submitting form REC 231. Eligibility, once granted, is valid for 1 year. If you are unable to pass the licensing exam within that year, you must reapply to the Commission before you can register to take or retake the PSI exam.

4. Start the 30 hours of Unit II Education – Enroll Today. While waiting for the Commission to grant Examination Eligibility, get started on the 30 hours in advanced real estate principles courses, often called “Unit II,” that are required for licensure. The Unit II requirement does not need to be completed prior to taking the licensing exam, however, the courses must be complete before a license will be issued.

5. Pass the Licensing Exam. After meeting the education and/or experience requirements, pass the real estate licensing examination. You must earn a score of 70% or higher to pass. Applicants have 1 year from obtaining Examination Eligibility from the Commission to pass the licensing exam. If this deadline is not met, you must reapply to the Commission before you can register to take or retake the PSI exam.

6. Find a sponsoring broker-in-charge and apply for a license. You must be sponsored by a broker-in-charge and apply for a sales license within 1 year of passing the licensing exam. The broker-in-charge will receive your license via mail from the Commission. If you already hold a real estate license in another state, you may obtain a South Carolina license with modified requirements.

Governing Agency

Name: South Carolina Real Estate Commission Phone: 8038964425 Fax: 8038964402 Website: http://llr.sc.gov/ Address: 110 Centerview Dr.; Suite 201 PO Box 11847 Columbia, SC 29211


Tennessee

1. Comply with the General Tennessee Real Estate License Requirements:

Be at least 18 years old

Have earned a high school diploma or GED and be able to provide proof thereof.

2. Complete 90 hours in courses – Enroll Today

Complete a 60-Hour Pre-license Principles Course in order to take the Tennessee state exam

Complete a 30-hour Pre-license Course for New Affiliates to apply for your license. This course can be completed prior to taking the licensing exam.

Step 3. Pass Tennessee real estate license exam

Pass state the exam by scoring at least a 70%

Within six months of passing the state exam, pay $110 and send proof of errors and omissions (E&O) insurance

Be sure to visit the Tennessee Real Estate Commission’s website for the most up-to-date information

If you are a time-share salesperson, you must complete a 30-hour training program covering the fundamentals of the Tennessee Time-Share Act, compiled in title 66, chapter 32, part 1, and related topics. Neither post-license nor continuing education classes are required.

Limitations

Tennessee Real Estate Commission (TREC) requires initial applicants and individuals who retest and reapply for a real estate license to submit fingerprints. Affiliate licensees that hold a current Tennessee license and meet all current requirements for Broker are not required to be fingerprinted. Only fingerprints taken through the L1 Morpho Trust USA system with the TREC OIR identifying number can be accepted. No fingerprints taken for other licenses are acceptable. To learn more about the procedure, visit https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/commerce/documents/regboards/trec/forms/REC_fingerprints.pdf.

Helpful licensing information is also posted on TREC’s website https://apps.tn.gov/licenses-app/view?id=982

Roster

Roster Required: yes Roster Process: Rosters for the 60-hour Affiliate Broker Prelicense course are submitted electronically to PSI every business day.

Schools are not required to report Tennessee New Affiliate Practice Course completions. Students should include a copy of their completion certificate for the Tennessee New Affiliates Practice Course with their license application. Roster Sent: Every 1 days

Governing Agency

Name: Tennessee Real Estate Commission Phone: 6157412273 Fax: 6157410313 Website: http://www.tn.gov/commerce/section/real-estate-commission Address: 500 James Robertson Pkwy 4th Floor Nashville, TN 37243


Texas

1. Meet Texas Real Estate License requirements.

You must be at least 18 years old, a citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted alien, and meet TREC’s qualifications for honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity in order to receive your real estate license in Texas.

2. Complete 180 hours in real estate qualifying education courses – Enroll Today

Principles of Real Estate I (30 hours)

Principles of Real Estate II (30 hours)

Law of Agency (30 hours)

Law of Contracts (30 hours)

Promulgated Contract Forms (30 hours)

Real Estate Finance (30 hours)Note: Credits from a related course may no longer be used to meet education requirements for a sales agent license. Education course completion documents must be submitted when the application is filed.

3. File and pay for the Inactive Sales Agent License application. You have one year from the date your application is filed to meet all license requirements.

Apply and pay for your Inactive Sales Agent License either online or by mail using a paper application (subject to a $20 paper filing fee and longer processing time).

Pay all fees when you submit your application. TREC accepts payment via one personal check, cashiers check or money order payable to the Texas Real Estate Commission. Do not send cash. Fees are nonrefundable.

Original application fee: $205, required for all applicants.

Real Estate Recovery fee: $10, due on initial applications for a license.

Background check fee: $38.25, paid to Morpho Trust if the applicant has not previously been fingerprinted for TREC.

Scan and email your education documents to documents@trec.texas.gov or fax them to 512-936-3864 with a copy of your Online Payment Summary page.Note: Submit copies of either credit transcripts or certificates as evidence of successful completion. Keep the originals for your personal files and send copies to TREC.

4. Take and pass the license exam.

License exams are administered by PearsonVUE. You will be sent a notice with instructions for scheduling the exam and obtaining a copy of the exam Candidate Handbook.

If you fail the exam three times, additional education will be necessary.

5. Before you can practice as a Texas real estate agent, you must arrange for a Texas real estate broker holding an active license to sponsor you as a sales agent. Applicants and inactive sales agents are not authorized to act as a real estate license holder. Here are your two options:

File the sponsorship request along with the application, OR

File the application and arrange for sponsorship after TREC notifies you that you have been issued an inactive license.

Limitations

Courses contain security questions and must be answered correctly within 1 minute. Due to state regulation, we are unable to provide questions/answers. Please be sure to read carefully.

Final Exams are closed note/closed book and must be proctored. A proctor is a third-party who monitors while you take the exam.

Criminal History Evaluation
Please be advised that a criminal history may make an individual ineligible for an occupational license. Anyone concerned about the effect their criminal history may have on their ability to get an occupational license may request a criminal history evaluation prior to enrolling in courses or applying for a real estate, inspector or appraiser license. Please refer to the criminal history eligibility guidelines set out in Texas Occupations Code §53.025 and TREC Rule 541.1. Potential applicants may request a criminal history evaluation by submitting a completed Fitness Determination Form to TREC prior to applying for a license. This form is recommended for individuals with any criminal offenses, unpaid judgments, who have had discipline taken against a professional or occupational license, or who have performed unlicensed activity.

Once licensed, the Sales Agent must complete 98 hours of Sales Agent Apprentice Education (SAE), for a total of 278 hours of education prior to the end of their first license term. These hours must include: 4 hours of TREC’s Legal Update I, 4 hours of TREC’s Legal Update II, and 90 hours in elective qualifying real estate education courses. Elective qualifying education courses include: Property Management (30 hours), Real Estate Marketing (30 hours), Real Estate Math (30 hours), Real Estate Appraisal (30 hours), Real Estate Investment (30 hours), Real Estate Law (30 hours), and Residential Inspection for Real Estate Agents (30 hours). The 30-hour Real Estate Brokerage course (mandatory for a broker’s license) is also an eligible qualifying real estate education course for SAE. Additionally, if you have been made a supervisor by your broker for six months or more, you need to take the 6-hour Broker Responsibility course to renew.

Governing Agency

Name: Texas Real Estate Commission Phone: 5129363000 Fax: 5129363863 Website: http://www.trec.texas.gov/ Address: 1700 N. Congress Avenue, Suite 400 Stephen F. Austin Building Austin, TX 78701


Utah

Utah Requirement Detail for Real Estate Pre-Licensing Education

Hours Required By The State: 120 hoursFingerprinting and Background Check Information:  Beginning in January 2020, all renewals for REAL ESTATE (BOTH ACTIVE AND INACTIVE LICENSEES) will need to obtain a fingerprint background check and enroll in RAP Back. The cost for fingerprinting, processing, and enrolling in RAP Back will be $45.00. The Division of Real Estate has purchased a LiveScan fingerprinting machine that will be available for licensees beginning in January.

The CE Shop is an approved real estate school in Utah; license number 6845319-RS00

Seat Time: The state requires that all students spend a minimum amount of seat time engaged in the course content. Our online course delivery system manages this requirement for you.

The CE Shop Offering: 120 hours

Final Exam Instructions: Each course contains a final exam. A minimum score of 70% is required to pass the final exam and can be taken as many times as needed to pass. 

Reporting: Students complete the pre-license course and will be issued a completion certification which student will take to Pearson Vue when you sit for the exam. Pearson Vue will verify and enter the completion into their system which later gets pushed into the UT REC system.

Expiration Date of Course: The CE Shop’s Pre-Licensing course expires one year after the date of purchase. The CE Shop will allow students to purchase a new course at a 50% discount of the current retail price of the new course. Each individual course will have an expiration date listed in the student’s account.

Certificates: Once The CE Shop has received the signed affidavit, your certificate of course completion will become available to download (and via email). The CE Shop will provide students with an electronic Certificate of Completion, upon completion of the course. Certificates will remain in your account for a minimum of five years, should you need additional copies. Please refer to your license application to determine if you need to submit your Certificate of Completion with your license request. Course completion dates are recorded using Central Standard Time. Please note that the date of your Certificate of Completion will reflect this.

Credit Hours Per Day: Per Utah rules, a student may not be awarded more than 8 hours of credit per day.

Criminal History Disclosure: Per the Utah Administrative Code, we are required to present the following disclosure:

Upon application with the division, the applicant will be required to:

  • Accurately disclose your criminal history according to the licensing questionnaire provided by the division;
  • Submit fingerprint cards to the division and consent to a criminal background check; and
  • Provide to the division complete court documentation relative to any criminal proceeding that you are required to disclose.

Additional Licensing Information:

Post-Licensing: If you hold a Sale’s Agent license and this renewal is your first one since original licensure, you are required to complete a 12 hour New Agent Post-Licensing real estate course prior to your first license renewal. If you need to take this course, select “Post-Licensing” for course type above to view this course.

Utah Division of Real Estate

Street Address: Herber M. Wells Building, 160 East 300 South, 2nd Floor, Salt Lake City, UT 84111

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 146711, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6711

Telephone: 801.530.6747

Fax: 801.526.4387

Utah Division of Real Estate Website


Vermont

Salesperson candidates are required to successfully complete 40 clock hours of approved Real Estate Principles and Practice.

Limitations

There are no limits on the number of hours allowed to be taken online.

Governing Agency

Name: Vermont Office of Professional Regulation Phone: 8028281505 Fax: 8028282368 Website: https://www.sec.state.vt.us/professional-regulation/list-of-professions/real-estate-commission.aspx Address: Real Estate Commission 89 Main Street 3rd Floor Montpelier, VT 05620


Virginia

1. Comply with the General Virginia Real Estate License Requirements:

Be at least 18 years old

Have a high school diploma or its equivalent

2. Meet the Educational Real Estate License Requirements in Virginia – Enroll today

Complete a 60-hour course in the principles of real estate

3. Pass the State and National sections of the Virginia Real Estate Exam

Virginia and National exams scores are valid for one year

4. Pass a background check

You must  have your fingerprints taken in a PSI Testing Location

A complete application must be on file with the Board within 45 days or else you will have to get your fingerprints taken again for additional fees

5. File the Virginia real estate license application.Your application must be 100% accurate and complete

All questions answered

All documents and fees attached

Contains a background check is no older than 45 days

Limitations

The 60-hour Virginia Prelicense course requires a live, proctored final examination.

Access to the proctored final exam will be prohibited until pre-license students have submitted a personal photo, in compliance with security requirements of the licensing exam provider, PSI. Please see the information included in the Documents section of your course for more details.

Courses taken to meet continuing education requirements are not acceptable for pre-license credit in Virginia.

The Board does not require a notarized affidavit for the completion of a Board-approved distance learning pre-license education course.

Governing Agency
Name: Virginia Real Estate Board
Phone: 8043672426
Fax: 8045274299
Website: http://www.dpor.virginia.gov/dporweb/dpormainwelcome.cfm
Address: Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400 Richmond, VA 23233


Washington

Washington Real Estate License: Broker

1. Comply with the General Washington Real Estate License Requirements:

Be at least 18 years old

Have your high school diploma or equivalent in order to receive your real estate license in Washington.

2. Meet the Educational Real Estate License Requirements in Washington – Enroll Today

Complete 90 hours of approved real estate education within the 2 years before applying for the exam. This education must include:

A 60-hour course in Real Estate Fundamentals.

A 30-hour course in Real Estate Practices

The real estate license education requirements will be waived for qualified applicants currently licensed in another state.

3. Pass a background check to get your Washington real estate license

Be ready to answer Criminal history questions and provide documents if needed

Submit fingerprints for a background check when you apply for your initial license and every 6 years afterward.

4. Take the Washington real estate license exam.

The washington real estate license exam consists of 100 multiple-choice questions in the National Broker Section and 30 multiple-choice questions at a State Broker Section. You will get 3.5 hours to complete an exam.

5. File your Washington real estate license application online

Complete the Washington real estate license application through the Department of Licensing’s online system.

Limitations

Students taking the Real Estate Fundamentals course cannot get credit for working more than 7.5 hours per day, therefore, the course final exam will not be available until at least the 9th day after registration, provided all other portions of the course are complete.

Governing Agency

Name: Washington State Department of Licensing
Phone: 3606646505
Fax: 3605704977
Website: http://www.dol.wa.gov/business/
Address: 2000 4th Ave. West Post Office Box 9048 Olympia, WA 98502


Wisconsin

Wisconsin 72-Hour Salesperson Pre-Licensing Course

Hours Required – 72 Hours

Reporting: The state does not require schools to report completions.

Final Exam: Final exams must be passed with at least an 75% and may be taken as many times as necessary in order to pass.

Expiration Date of Course: The CE Shop’s Wisconsin Pre-Licensing course expires six months after the date of purchase. Each student will be granted a one-month extension at no charge, to be applied immediately after the initial six-month term. For any reactivation or extension of the course after the seventh month, The CE Shop will charge the student 20% of the current retail price of the course for each 30-day extension or partial 30-day extension in the event that the course finally terminates before the end of the final 30-day extension. Students may also elect to re-enroll for 50% of the current retail price of the course, if the course has hit the year expiration or the student is at the 7 month mark and wants to repurchase and restart the course and enrollment.  Extensions or reactivations cannot be granted beyond 12 months from the purchase of the course since, in all events, the course terminates 12 months after purchase.

Certificates: Upon completion of the course, The CE Shop will provide students with an electronic Certificate of Completion. Please refer to your license renewal application to determine if you need to submit your Certificate of Completion with your license renewal request. Course completion dates are recorded using Central Standard Time. Please note that the date of your Certificate of Completion will reflect this.

Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services

Street Address: Department of Safety and Professional Services, 4822 Madison Yards Way, Madison, WI 53705

Mailing Address: Real Estate Examining Board, PO Box 8935, Madison, WI 53708-8935

Telephone: 608.266.2112 or 877.617.1565

Fax: 608.261.7083


Wyoming


Note: This license requirement and renewal information is provided as a convenience only and is subject to change at any time. It’s ultimately the responsibility of the licensee to be sure that he or she is meeting all requirements for each license and corresponding renewal period.